sketchy behavior reviewTitle: Sketchy Behavior by Erynn Mangum

Pages: 214

Genres: YA, Christian Fiction, Contemporary, Mystery

Publisher: Zondervan (Aug. 9th, 2011)

Summary:

Drawing Conclusions or Drafting Disaster?

Other than harboring a somewhat obsessive fondness for Crispix and completely swearing-off boys after a bad date (don’t ask), sixteen-year-old Kate Carter is about as ordinary as they come, except for her two notable talents: art and sarcasm. After an introduction to forensic sketching in her elective art class, Kate discovers a third and most unexpected gift: criminal profiling. Her photo-quality sketch helps the police catch a wanted murderer and earns her celebrity status in South Woodhaven Falls. But when that murderer appears to be using his friends to exact revenge, Kate goes from local hero to possible target. Will she manage to survive? Will life ever be normal again? And will local news anchor Ted Deffle ever stop sending her flowers?

Goodreads | Amazon


Read More

It’s Top Ten Tuesday!  TTT a weekly bookish list hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl! This week’s topic is:

Funny and Pun-Filled Book Titles


Read More

closureTitle: Closure by Lindsey Todd

Pages: 255

Genres: Christian (Catholic) Fiction, New Adult

Publisher: Self-Published (Aug. 28th, 2020)

Summary: “I hope, after this extremely long love letter, that you can appreciate the way all of our little moments fell together in the type of perfection I had once believed I’d only read about in books.”

For Morgan, Philadelphia isn’t “just” a city. It can never, will never, be “just” a city again.

From ordering cookies at a food truck at 2 AM, to wading barefoot in a fountain near the famous Rocky statue, to drunk grocery shopping and midnight serenades, Wade is the center of Morgan’s world. However, from the beginning, they face an irreconcilable difference that threatens to tear their relationship apart: though they were both born and raised Catholic, Morgan cares about her beliefs, and Wade resents them. When Morgan begins making her values a priority, confusion and bitterness surface as both parties struggle to accept that their once-perfect relationship is no longer a guarantee.

Years later, when Morgan revisits the city that has always been able to crack her heart wide open, she learns that closure can come in unexpected forms, and that sometimes, destiny lends itself to the most perfect of goodbyes between two people who really loved each other.

Perfect for fans of Jill Santopolo’s The Light We Lost and Daniel Handler’s Why We Broke Up, this breathtaking, heart-wrenching, and tumultuous New Adult novel will resonate with anyone who’s ever had a first love they believed would last forever, and addresses the hard reality that growing up in a relationship ultimately means growing together or growing apart.

Goodreads | Amazon


Read More

It’s Top Ten Tuesday!  TTT a weekly bookish list hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl! This week’s topic is:

Ten Books I’d Like To Spring Clean Off My TBR!


Read More

Friends!! It’s March! That means spring is just around the corner. It’s also my birthday month! March has always a been a month of reflection for me, but with it coming up to the year mark that most of the world has been on lockdown, this March feels extra…momentous? So much has changed in my life from last March. I’m really hoping this one will be kinder to us all this year. I feel like I’m rambling, lol, but all this is to say I don’t know how much reading I will get done this month. I will probably end up either reading 2 books or like, 15. I feel like there is going to be no in between for me. 😂

Regardless of all that, I’ve decided to make a TBR! Here’s what I would love to read this month:

Read More

img_0201Title: The Message in the Hollow Oak (Nancy Drew #12) by Carolyn Keene

Pages: 181

Genres: Mystery, Children’s

Publisher: Grosset & Dunlap (1972)

Summary: A group of professional detectives challenge Nancy to tackle a mystery that they have failed to solve: find an invaluable message hidden by a missionary centuries ago in a hollow oak tree in Illinois. While searching the woods for the ancient tree, Nancy and her friends live with a group of young archaeologists who are excavating prehistoric Indian burial mounds on a nearby farm. A shadowy enemy stalks Nancy and harasses everyone at the dig. The young investigator pursues her dangerous adversary to an outlaws’ cave, and is threatened when she discovers an unusual treasure. How Nancy, with few clues to go on, solves this complex mystery will thrill all readers.

Goodreads | Amazon


Read More
Everything That Was

Title: Everything That Was by E. Graziani

Pages: 323

Genres: Women’s Fiction, Romance

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press (Feb. 8th, 2021)

Summary: What would you do for a secret love?

Despite not speaking for nearly twenty years, Massimo Damiani, a ‘rags-to-riches’ oil executive, summons Sofie to his hospice bedside in picturesque Tuscany—his last wish?…to reconcile their stormy history and set long-buried secrets to rest.

Sofia Romano, a powerful Wall Street banker in Manhattan’s financial district, reeling with heartache in her rocky marriage, ignores her husband’s protests, and flies to Italy to comfort the dying man from her past.

With old promises tugging at her heart and the memory of a tempestuous love that grew and crumbled time and again, will Sofia ever come to terms with the flaws in her marriage and gain the strength to rebuild it?

Goodreads | Amazon


Read More

It’s Top Ten Tuesday!  TTT a weekly bookish list hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl! This week’s topic is:

Ten Books That Made Me Laugh Out Loud!


Read More

Title: The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

Pages: 319

Genres: Fantasy, Historical

Publisher: Del Rey Books (Jan. 10th, 2017)

Summary: At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn’t mind—she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse’s fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil.

After Vasilisa’s mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa’s new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows.

And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa’s stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for either marriage or confinement in a convent.

As danger circles, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed—this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse’s most frightening tales.

The Bear and the Nightingale is a magical debut novel from a gifted and gorgeous voice. It spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent.

Goodreads | Amazon


Read More

Title: Unveiled: A Poetry Memoir by Ivy Cirillo

Pages: 203

Genres: Memoir, Poetry

Publisher: Orion Publishing House (Aug. 30th, 2019)

Summary: Unveiled: A Poetry Memoir, is a collection of poetry organized into three sections: My Story, My Pain, and My Future. It was written for those that need to release their past, experience their pain, and look forward to their future. It was not written to instill pity or sorrow within you, but to spark the fire in your soul to take action and find the smallest shimmer of hope in your darkest days. 

Amazon | Goodreads

Read More