Book Review | Closure

closureTitle: Closure by Lindsey Todd

Pages: 255

Genres: Christian (Catholic) Fiction, New Adult

Publisher: Self-Published (Aug. 28th, 2020)

Summary: “I hope, after this extremely long love letter, that you can appreciate the way all of our little moments fell together in the type of perfection I had once believed I’d only read about in books.”

For Morgan, Philadelphia isn’t “just” a city. It can never, will never, be “just” a city again.

From ordering cookies at a food truck at 2 AM, to wading barefoot in a fountain near the famous Rocky statue, to drunk grocery shopping and midnight serenades, Wade is the center of Morgan’s world. However, from the beginning, they face an irreconcilable difference that threatens to tear their relationship apart: though they were both born and raised Catholic, Morgan cares about her beliefs, and Wade resents them. When Morgan begins making her values a priority, confusion and bitterness surface as both parties struggle to accept that their once-perfect relationship is no longer a guarantee.

Years later, when Morgan revisits the city that has always been able to crack her heart wide open, she learns that closure can come in unexpected forms, and that sometimes, destiny lends itself to the most perfect of goodbyes between two people who really loved each other.

Perfect for fans of Jill Santopolo’s The Light We Lost and Daniel Handler’s Why We Broke Up, this breathtaking, heart-wrenching, and tumultuous New Adult novel will resonate with anyone who’s ever had a first love they believed would last forever, and addresses the hard reality that growing up in a relationship ultimately means growing together or growing apart.

Goodreads | Amazon


*I received a free copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. A huge thank you to the author!*

What a heartfelt novel! Going into this book, I wasn’t completely sure what to expect, but this one really blew me away. Closure is authentic, emotional, and raw. Lindsey Todd is certainly an author I will be watching for!

The entire novel is written in letter form from the main character, Morgan, to her old boyfriend and first love, Wade. Even though I knew that their relationship was not going to work out from the very beginning, I couldn’t help but root for them. It is clear that they love they had for each other was real. I think that is one of the aspects I really loved about this story. While their relationship didn’t work out, and as the story progresses, both Morgan and the reader realize the relationship is wrong, it doesn’t take away from the time those two did have together. While their relationship didn’t last, their love for each other was real, and I think that is really beautiful.

Closure spans through six years, so the reader really gets to watch Morgan and Wade grow up, learn about themselves, and fall in and out of love. Morgan has to make a lot of difficult choices in this novel, especially when it comes to dealing with her relationship with Wade and the convictions of her Catholic faith. I really appreciated the authenticity behind her faith and the struggles, failures, temptations, and ultimately the peace and joy that come along with it.

Overall, I found Closure to be an enjoyable novel. With unforgettable characters and an emotional and engaging storyline, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of the new adult genre that is looking for a more Christian alternative.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: