The Calico Books

Archives

Title: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton Pages: 400 Genres: Mystery, Magical Realism Published by: Ecco Press (Aug. 26th, 2014) Summary Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam–a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion–a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. “There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .” On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in… Read More