Book Review | Five Feet Apart

five feet apart.jpgTitle: Five Feet Apart by Rachael Linnincott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis

Pages: 288

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (Nov. 20th, 2018)

Summary

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

Five Feet Apart

what i thought

After seeing so many people talk about this book on Bookstagram, and then seeing the movie trailer, I just knew I had to read Five Feet Apart!  Going into this book, I didn’t know how this story was going to play out, I just knew it would break my heart.  Let me just say that this book did not disappoint!

I’ll be honest, while I knew a little bit, I did not know a whole lot about CF going into reading Five Feet Apart.  Because of that, I didn’t know how accurate everything was portrayed.  I really appreciated Katharine from ReadwithKat’s review, because she actually has CF.  It was interesting to read her perspective and thoughts about this book, and I encourage you to read her review as well!

Personally, though, I really enjoyed this book.  I loved all the characters so much.  Poe and Stella’s friendship was so sweet.  Even though they could never give each other something as simple as a hug, I loved how they were still there to support and encourage each other through life.  I also appreciated the romance between Stella and Will.  I had no idea how this would play out, and I’ll be honest, I thought it was going to be overly dramatic and feel so unrealistic.  I am so happy to say that was not the case.  It was a very sweet relationship in an unconventional way.

The actual story was very engaging and readable.  I was instantly hooked by the very first chapter!

Going into this book, I knew it was going to break my heart.  Any book that is compared to The Fault in Our Stars you know will be a tearjerker.  That being said, while Five Feet Apart did leave me crying, it also left me feeling hopeful, which is something I didn’t really expect.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book.  While some parts were so hard to read, there were other moments that were just so sweet.  I would definitely recommend Five Feet Apart to anyone looking for a sweet, yet ill-fated love story.  This book will not disappoint!

4 stars 2


 

Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ | Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads | Litsy (@thecalicobooks)

Buy from:

The Book Depository

(I receive a tiny commission if you follow my BD links!)

9 Comments on “Book Review | Five Feet Apart

  1. So touching! I saw the movie trailer for this and I liked it. I had no idea there was a book! *Adding another book to my never ending TBR!*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: