the calico books

Archives

Title: Closure by Lindsey Todd Pages: 255 Genres: Christian (Catholic) Fiction, New Adult Publisher: Self-Published (Aug. 28th, 2020) Summary: “I hope, after this extremely long love letter, that you can appreciate the way all of our little moments fell together in the type of perfection I had once believed I’d only read about in books.” For Morgan, Philadelphia isn’t “just” a city. It can never, will never, be “just” a city again. From ordering cookies at a… Read More

Title: The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden Pages: 319 Genres: Fantasy, Historical Publisher: Del Rey Books (Jan. 10th, 2017) Summary: At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn’t mind—she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse’s fairy tales. Above all, she loves the… Read More

Title: Unveiled: A Poetry Memoir by Ivy Cirillo Pages: 203 Genres: Memoir, Poetry Publisher: Orion Publishing House (Aug. 30th, 2019) Summary: Unveiled: A Poetry Memoir, is a collection of poetry organized into three sections: My Story, My Pain, and My Future. It was written for those that need to release their past, experience their pain, and look forward to their future. It was not written to instill pity or sorrow within you,… Read More

Title: Enter Wild by Carlos Whittaker Pages: 208 Genres: Nonfiction, Christian Faith Publisher: Waterbrook & Multnomah (June 16th, 2020) Summary Break free from a safe (and boring) faith to truly live the abundant life with all the wonder Jesus promised in John 10:10. You are meant to receive the abundance God promises here and now. You are not meant to wait until heaven to experience His best. Even in the midst of… Read More

Title: Human(kind) by Ashlee Eiland Pages: 224 Genres: Nonfiction, Christian Publisher: Waterbrook & Multnomah (Apr. 7, 2020) Summary A talented storyteller and peacemaker asks: Can kindness kindle a revolution? “Ashlee teaches by example how to live with courage and compassion, and I believe her perspective and voice will be deeply meaningful to so many people.”–Shauna Niequist Long before polls, protests, and political issues divided us, we were joined by a humanness that… Read More

Title: The Jesus Who Surprises: Opening Our Eyes to His Presence in All of Life and Scripture by Dee Brestin Pages: 256 Genres: Nonfiction, Christian Living Publisher: Waterbrook & Multnomah (July 23rd, 2019) Summary Join beloved Bible teacher and best-selling author Dee Brestin in discovering the surprising places Jesus shows up in the Old Testament and the unexpected ways He speaks into our lives today. Offering a fascinating perspective on the historic, poetic, and prophetic books of… Read More

Title: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens Page: 384 Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons (Aug. 14th, 2018) Summary For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in… Read More

Title: Five Feet Apart by Rachael Linnincott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis Pages: 288 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (Nov. 20th, 2018) Summary In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives. Can you love someone you can never touch? Stella Grant likes to… Read More

Title: All in Pieces by Suzanne Young Pages: 259 Genres: YA, Contemporary Published by: Simon Pulse (Nov. 8th, 2016) Summary “Anger-management issues.” That’s how they classified Savannah Sutton after she stuck a pencil in her ex-boyfriend’s hand because he mocked her little brother, Evan, for being disabled. That’s why they sent her to Brooks Academy—an alternative high school that’s used as a temporary detention center. The days at Brooks are miserable, but at home, life is far… Read More

Title: Small Spaces by Katherine Arden Pages: 218 Genres: Middle Grade, Horror Summary Bestselling adult author of The Bear and the Nightingale makes her middle grade debut with a creepy, spellbinding ghost story destined to become a classic. After suffering a tragic loss, eleven-year-old Ollie only finds solace in books. So when she happens upon a crazed woman at the river threatening to throw a book into the water, Ollie doesn’t think–she just acts, stealing the… Read More