the calico books

Archives

Title: The Jesus Who Surprises: Opening Our Eyes to His Presence in All of Life and Scripture by Dee Brestin Pages: 256 Genres: Nonfiction, Christian Living Publisher: Waterbrook & Multnomah (July 23rd, 2019) Summary Join beloved Bible teacher and best-selling author Dee Brestin in discovering the surprising places Jesus shows up in the Old Testament and the unexpected ways He speaks into our lives today. Offering a fascinating perspective on the historic, poetic, and prophetic books of… Read More

Title: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens Page: 384 Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons (Aug. 14th, 2018) Summary For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in… Read More

Title: Five Feet Apart by Rachael Linnincott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis Pages: 288 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (Nov. 20th, 2018) Summary In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives. Can you love someone you can never touch? Stella Grant likes to… Read More

Title: All in Pieces by Suzanne Young Pages: 259 Genres: YA, Contemporary Published by: Simon Pulse (Nov. 8th, 2016) Summary “Anger-management issues.” That’s how they classified Savannah Sutton after she stuck a pencil in her ex-boyfriend’s hand because he mocked her little brother, Evan, for being disabled. That’s why they sent her to Brooks Academy—an alternative high school that’s used as a temporary detention center. The days at Brooks are miserable, but at home, life is far… Read More

Title: Small Spaces by Katherine Arden Pages: 218 Genres: Middle Grade, Horror Summary Bestselling adult author of The Bear and the Nightingale makes her middle grade debut with a creepy, spellbinding ghost story destined to become a classic. After suffering a tragic loss, eleven-year-old Ollie only finds solace in books. So when she happens upon a crazed woman at the river threatening to throw a book into the water, Ollie doesn’t think–she just acts, stealing the… Read More

Title: Save the Date by Morgan Matson Pages: 432 Genres: YA, Contemporary Published by: Simon & Schuster (June 5th, 2018) Summary Charlie Grant’s older sister is getting married this weekend at their family home, and Charlie can’t wait—for the first time in years, all four of her older siblings will be under one roof. Charlie is desperate for one last perfect weekend, before the house is sold and everything changes. The house will be filled with jokes… Read More

Title: Safe House (1-800-Where-R-U #3) by Meg Cabot writing as Jenny Carroll Pages: 272 Genres: YA, Paranormal, Mystery, Contemporary Published by: Simon Pulse (March 1, 2002) Summary Ever since Jess was struck by lightning, she’s had the power to find missing people. And everyone wants a piece of her powers…. In Safe House, Jess and her psychic abilities are being blamed for the murder of Amber, a beloved cheerleader. But when more cheerleaders start disappearing, Jess may be… Read More

Title: Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson Pages: 468 Genres: YA, Contemporary Published by: Simon & Schuster (May 8, 2012) Summary Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains. Crammed into a place much… Read More

Title: Holes by Louis Sachar Pages: 233 Genres: Childrens/Middle Grade, Realistic Fiction Published by: Scholastic (Aug. 20, 1998) Summary Stanley Yelnats is under a curse. A curse that began with his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather and has since followed generations of Yelnatses. Now Stanley has been unjustly sent to a boys’ detention center, Camp Green Lake, where the boys build character by spending all day, every day digging holes exactly five feet wide and five feet deep. There is no… Read More

Title: In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters Pages: 387 Genres: YA, Historical Fiction, Paranormal, Mystery Published by: Amulet Books (Apr. 2, 2013) Summary In 1918, the world seems on the verge of apocalypse. Americans roam the streets in gauze masks to ward off the deadly Spanish influenza, and the government ships young men to the front lines of a brutal war, creating an atmosphere of fear and confusion. Sixteen-year-old Mary Shelley Black watches as desperate… Read More