The Calico Books

Archives

Title: Sunrise Cabin by Stacey Donovan Pages: 346 Genres: Romance, Contemporary Published by: Hallmark Publishing (Sept. 16th, 2018) Summary Two very different people… One very special place. Dylan’s an overworked investment banker. Paige is a free-spirited first-grade teacher. From the first time they meet, these two opposites attract. Meanwhile, the cabin Paige is renting has gone up for sale. She loves living there, and she just might be able to buy it—if she finally achieves her dream… Read More

Hello! I absolutely love decorating for the different seasons and holidays! It always gets me in such a festive mood. Today I’m going to be sharing with you all my autumnal bookshelf decorations!

It’s Top Ten Tuesday again!  It’s a weekly bookish list hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl! This week’s topic is: TOP TEN LONGEST BOOKS I’VE EVER READ This week’s title is pretty self-explanatory.  Today I’m sharing with you all ten of the longest books I’ve ever read!  I’ve scoured Goodreads, so I’m pretty sure I’m not missing anything.  I’ve included the page count at the top, too!  Also, I’m just going to be upfront… Read More

Hello!  Today I am back with another Blogtober Book Quote.  Today I’m sharing Robert Frost’s iconic poem, The Road Not Taken.  There’s just something about this poem that I have always appreciated it.  While I realize this poem isn’t super seasonal, it just reminds me of autumn so much. Two roads diverged in a yellow wood, And sorry I could not travel both And be one traveler, long I stood And looked down… Read More

Hello and happy Sunday! I just realized we are officially a week into October, so I thought it was time for me to do my September wrap-up.  September was a bit of a slower month for me, blogging and reading wise, because school was kicking my booty.  Luckily, I’m more into the swing of things now, and I’ve started to have a bit more time to read and blog again! So, overall,… Read More

Title: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton Pages: 400 Genres: Mystery, Magical Realism Published by: Ecco Press (Aug. 26th, 2014) Summary Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam–a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion–a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. “There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .” On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in… Read More

Hello! Today for Blogtober/Blogween, I’m going to be sharing my answers for the Halloween Creatures 2.0 book tag. I was tagged by Jessica @ Reading with Jessica and Mandy @ Devouring Books.  So, a huge thank you to the both of them for thinking of me! 🤗🎃 Alright, let’s get started! Rules: Answer all prompts. Answer honestly. Tag 1-13 people. Link back to this post. Remember to credit the creator. (Anthony @… Read More

It is Day 4 of Blogtober and my first official post for Blogoween!  Today’s post is all about witches!  This blog prompt was created by Kaleena at Reader Voracious in honor of Blogoween, so be sure to check out her favorite books about witches, too! 🧙🏼‍♀️ The original prompt was supposed to be about sharing five of your favorite books about witches.  Well, when I went to write this post, I realized I had… Read More

Waiting on Wednesday/Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature, started by Breaking the Spine and continued by Wishful Endings, that puts the spotlight on upcoming releases!  This week’s pick is: Every Breath RELEASING OCTOBER 16th, 2018 Synopsis In the romantic tradition of The Notebook and Nights in Rodanthe, #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicholas Sparks returns with a story about a chance encounter that becomes a touchstone for two vastly different individuals — transcending decades, continents, and the bittersweet… Read More

Hey everyone! In honor of Blogtober and Blogoween, I’ve decided to do a little feature on my blog that I’m calling Blogtober Book Quotes.  It’s very similar to what I did during Blogmas except, instead of Christmas quotes (obviously, lol), I’ll be sharing quotes that remind me of autumn and Halloween. Today, I’m starting things off with such a classic, October quote from one of my favorite books, Anne of Green Gables! October was… Read More