The Calico Books

Archives

Hello! Today I’m back with another extremely late wrap-up.  Yup, that’s not a typo, it may be nearly May, but I’m finally sharing my March wrap-up. 🙈  For the past few months, I feel like I’ve been in this weird reading and blogging slump, where I want to read and blog and then I just do other things instead.  I’m ready to push through that, though, so hopefully the rest of the… Read More

Okay everyone, today is my third and final day as host for Bookending Spring 2019!  While I’m super sad it’s my last day as a host, today’s prompt is going to be so much fun!  Today we are talking all about our bookshelves.  I don’t know about you, but I love decorating my bookshelves – especially now that the weather is getting warmer and spring is in the air!  I definitely get… Read More

Hello! It is day two of me hosting Bookending Spring 2019!  Lately, the weather has been so beautiful and it has really been putting me in that springtime mood.  So, for today’s post, I’m sharing with you all some of my favorite books that remind me of spring! Some of these books remind of spring because of the content, others just because of their pretty covers.  Either way, just thinking about these… Read More

Title: Five Feet Apart by Rachael Linnincott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis Pages: 288 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (Nov. 20th, 2018) Summary In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives. Can you love someone you can never touch? Stella Grant likes to… Read More

It’s Top Ten Tuesday again!  It’s a weekly bookish list hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl! This week’s topic is: SPRING TBR

Hey everyone! Today I am so excited to share my review of Regal Hearts: Season Two by Livy Jarmusch. I read Season One a while back and really loved, so I was so excited jump back into this series! Be sure to read to the end of the post, because I’m also sharing how you can enter to win an autographed copy of Season One, and you will not want to miss it!… Read More

Hey everyone! So, I just realized I never posted my February wrap-up! So, here I am posting it halfway through March! 😂 Altogether I read 6 books in February!

Title: All in Pieces by Suzanne Young Pages: 259 Genres: YA, Contemporary Published by: Simon Pulse (Nov. 8th, 2016) Summary “Anger-management issues.” That’s how they classified Savannah Sutton after she stuck a pencil in her ex-boyfriend’s hand because he mocked her little brother, Evan, for being disabled. That’s why they sent her to Brooks Academy—an alternative high school that’s used as a temporary detention center. The days at Brooks are miserable, but at home, life is far… Read More

Waiting on Wednesday/Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature, started by Breaking the Spine and continued by Wishful Endings, that puts the spotlight on upcoming releases!  This week’s pick is:

Title: Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier Genres: Classic, Gothic, Mystery Published by: HarperCollins (August, 1938) Summary Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again . . . The novel begins in Monte Carlo, where our heroine is swept off her feet by the dashing widower Maxim de Winter and his sudden proposal of marriage. Orphaned and working as a lady’s maid, she can barely believe her luck. It is only when they arrive at his… Read More